Detuned Civic Type R engine set for Accord application

LinkedIn +

Honda’s all-new 2018 Accord has gained an all-new engine, with the launch of the Accord 2.0T. The more powerful 2.0-liter VTEC Turbo engine shares its fundamental engine design with the K20C1 found in the 2017 Civic Type R. However, in comparison to the Civic’s Type R engine, the Accord utilizes a smaller, low-inertia turbocharger for improved low-end response.

The Accord 2.0T Sport will be available with either a ‘segment-first’ 10-speed automatic transmission, or a short-throw 6-speed manual. The more powerful Accord 2.0T joins the 2018 Accord 1.5T, with the pair set to be joined by the Accord Hybrid, featuring the 3rd generation of Honda’s two-motor hybrid technology.

The 2018 Accord 2.0T’s VTEC Turbo direct-injected DOHC inline-4 engine develops 252hp, and 273lbft, and has achieved EPA-approved fuel economy ratings of up to 23/34/27 mpg (city/highway/combined).

All 2018 Accords for the U.S. market will be manufactured at Honda’s Marysville, Ohio auto plant. Its three new engines – 1.5T, 2.0T and a 2.0L Atkinson cycle for the Accord Hybrid – will be produced at the nearby Anna, Ohio engine plant, Honda’s largest engine plant globally. The new 10-speed automatic transmission in the Accord is manufactured by Honda in Tallapoosa, Georgia. Honda has hired 300 new associates and invested more than US$267 million in new manufacturing technology in its Ohio plants for production of the new Accord and its engines.

Share this story:

About Author

Dean has been with UKi Media & Events for over a decade, having previously cut his journalistic teeth writing and editing for various automotive and engineering titles. He combines extensive knowledge of all things automotive with a passion for driving, and experience testing countless new vehicles, engines and technologies around the world. As well as his role as editor-in-chief across a range of UKi's media titles, he is also co-chair of the judging panel of the International Engine + Powertrain of the Year Awards.

Comments are closed.