BorgWarner develops Four-Fold turbo system

LinkedIn +

Tier 1 supplier BorgWarner has introduced the world’s first regulated two-stage turbocharging system with four turbochargers for passenger cars.

Developed for inclusion in BMW’s latest TwinPower Turbo diesel engine, the system has been designed to improve fuel efficiency while contributing to constant and fluid power delivery over the entire rev band.

“BorgWarner’s latest and most sophisticated R2S system features four turbochargers to take boosting to a whole new level and help our customer achieve the highest demands for power and efficiency for an exciting driving experience,” said Frédéric Lissalde, general manager at BorgWarner.

The advanced two-stage turbocharging system, features four turbochargers and boosts the OEMs new 3.0-liter six-cylinder inline diesel engine to achieve a power output of 400ps and a maximum torque of 760Nm.

To meet high performance requirements the supplier has replaced the low-pressure turbocharger with two smaller ones to reduce inertia, meaning faster response without increasing system weight.

At low engine speeds, one high-pressure turbocharger quickly generates boost pressure for rapid acceleration without noticeable turbo lag. At higher flow rates, both high-pressure turbines operate to increase the capacity.

“We introduced our R2S turbocharging solution into the passenger car market in cooperation with the BMW Group and are pleased to take the next step together,” added Lissalde. “This prestigious project helps reinforce our position as a market leader in turbocharging technologies.”

Share this story:

About Author

Dean has been with UKi Media & Events for over a decade, having previously cut his journalistic teeth writing and editing for various automotive and engineering titles. He combines extensive knowledge of all things automotive with a passion for driving, and experience testing countless new vehicles, engines and technologies around the world. As well as his role as editor-in-chief across a range of UKi's media titles, he is also co-chair of the judging panel of the International Engine + Powertrain of the Year Awards.

Comments are closed.