Ford unveils all-new EcoBlue diesel engine

LinkedIn +

Ford unveiled its all-new EcoBlue diesel engine at the 2016 IAA Hannover Commercial Vehicle Show, with claims of fuel efficiency improvments compared with the outgoing 2.2-liter TDCi engine, and improved CO2 emissions from 157g/km.

“Ford’s EcoBlue engine is a real diesel game changer, combining reduced cost of ownership with outstanding performance and cleaner emissions,” said Bernhard Mattes, chairman, Ford of Germany. “As our sales growth shows, Ford already offers the most advanced line-up of commercial vehicles in Europe, and the all-new Ford EcoBlue engine takes it to a new level.”

The all-new 2.0-liter Ford EcoBlue diesel uses a completely new architecture engineered to provide the next-generation of engines for future Ford cars and commercial vehicles.

The 2.0-liter engine features revised turbocharger, fuel injection, combustion system, structural design and low-friction technologies to deliver ‘significant’ improvements in fuel efficiency, performance and operating refinement.

Available now in the latest Transit and Transit Custom models, the 2.0-liter Ford EcoBlue engine is offered in 105PS, 130PS and 170PS power ratings, each of which offers increased power and torque compared with the outgoing 2.2-liter engine. Improved low-end pulling power, with 20% more torque at 1,250rpm.

Transit van models equipped with Ford’s optional ‘Auto-Start-Stop’ system achieve CO2 emissions from 174g/km and average fuel consumption from 42.8mpg representing a 10% reduction over the equivalent outgoing model.

Share this story:

About Author

Dean has been with UKi Media & Events for over a decade, having previously cut his journalistic teeth writing and editing for various automotive and engineering titles. He combines extensive knowledge of all things automotive with a passion for driving, and experience testing countless new vehicles, engines and technologies around the world. As well as his role as editor-in-chief across a range of UKi's media titles, he is also co-chair of the judging panel of the International Engine + Powertrain of the Year Awards.

Comments are closed.